Tags

, ,

I know it’s too late to talk about planting a garden this year, but at the end of the growing season I like to jot down a few notes for the following summer.  I keep notes on which new varieties I tried, where I moved established plants, which ones I didn’t like or really liked.  This year what I enjoyed the most was my hummingbirds.  I hung four feeders of sugar water and also planted flowers to attract them.

 I had hummingbirds early in the spring in my magnolia tree and they have been here all summer long. 

Hummingbirds are attracted to red and bright orange

Lilies

Kniphofia

Poppies

Four O'Clocks

Tubular or trumpet shaped flowers

Balloon Flower

Petunias

Hibiscus

Rhododendron

Delphinium

Fragrant flowers

Sweet Pea

Roses

Butterfly Bush

Phlox

Add in a few other annuals for a variety of color

Pansies

And, of course zinnias

Many other flowers attract hummingbirds including bee balm, fuchsia, nasturtium, nicotiana, salvia, snapdragon, coral bells, lupine, columbine and clematis.

It’s easy to make your own hummingbird nectar.  Boil 2 parts water to 1 part sugar until the sugar dissolves.  Cool completely before filling feeders.  Keep your feeders clean and change nectar every few days.

